A selfless friend to hang on, A shoulder to rest on……


(An inspiration from the song “Raat Hamari Toh” from Parineeta written by Swanand Kirkire)

As I wait for every raindrop to caress my skin,

As I wait for every moisture present in it to seep into my soul,

As I wait for the drought in my heart to beam away,

I need a medium to drain my emptiness,

I need every drop of your existence to stay with me,

I need a force like you to fuel my life,

You may show anger by your absence,

But my wait for you can overpower every obstacle I encounter,

Your presence might stem the need for an umbrella,

But I seldom use it,

For  every moment I spend with you is indeed a celebration,

Your arrival in seasons keep me waiting,

Your departure symbolizes the balance in my life,

I’ve always got a shoulder to rest on,

I’ve always got a lap to slip into my dreams,

I’m happy, you depict truth,

I’m satisfied you aren’t perfect,

Ultimately I’m charmed by the humility you possess,

I’m indeed thankful that you’ve given me an opportunity,

to share every slice of my life!

(I dedicate this poem to every friend who has provided me ample moments of happiness and memories which I could treasure through a lifetime!)

 

One thought on “A selfless friend to hang on, A shoulder to rest on……

Leave a Reply

